Natalie Nowicki Backyard Bird Count

During the Backyard Bird Count i observed birds from around my college dorm. I sat outside of my dorm near the intersection of Cecil B. Moore and Broad Street. Since I am located in a city I was not expecting to see a lot of birds. The only two types of birds that I saw were pigeons and house sparrows. I saw a few pigeons walking around and looking for food on the ground. Some even found a few crumbs and picked them up. All of the pigeons that I saw looked different from each other, they looked similar but some of their markings were different. They also all looked dirty but that is probably because we are in a city. I saw around seven pigeons during the hour. The next type of bird I saw was the house sparrow. These are small brown birds and they all looked relatively the same to me. They would fly around and interact with each other and sometimes I could hear them chirp. There is a patch of grass by my dorm and I saw a lot of them walking around in there. They probably like the grassy environment better than the cement that they are surrounded by. I also saw some up in the trees along the sidewalk. Overall I probably saw around fifteen of the little brown house sparrows. 

Leave a comment